Record Arkansas Largemouth was Caught Illegally
March 12, 2012
We hate when this happens.
Last week, we posted an article on Paul Crowder's 16-pound, 5-ounce largemouth bass that should have broken an Arkansas state record.
However, according to a release from the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission, Crowder's fishing license expired in April 2011, and he purchased his new license three hours after reeling in the big lunker at Lake Dunn on Feb. 28.
Therefore, Crowder's catch will not be recognized as the state record, and the previous record 16-pound, 4-ouncer caught by Aaron Mardis on March 2, 1976, will continue to be recognized as the state record.
Crowder faces a maximum penalty of 30 days in jail or a $1,000 fine. His court hearing is scheduled for March 19 in Wynne District Court.
This just goes to show, always be sure your license is up to date before hitting the lake; we'd all love to catch that record bass, but we'd love to have that record stand.