Hawaii DLNR Announces Season Closures

Hawaii DLNR Announces Season Closures

The Department of Land and Natural Resources (DLNR) announces a fishing season closure for Deep 7 bottomfish species in State marine waters, effective March 12 through August 31, 2011. Deep 7 bottomfish species include onaga, opakapaka, ehu, kalekale, gindai, lehi and hapu?upu?u.

During the closed season, commercial and non-commercial fishing for Deep 7 bottomfish species is prohibited in State marine waters. The possession and sale, including the sales by dealers, of any Deep 7 bottomfish is also prohibited during the closed season.

The closure period coincides with the federal bottomfish fishery season closure. The closure begins on the date when the current total allowable catch of 254,050 pounds is estimated to be harvested by the fishery.

The Deep 7 and other bottomfish are managed cooperatively by the state and federal governments. Maps of the closed State marine waters, both seasonal Deep 7 closure and bottomfish restricted fishing areas, are available on the Division of Aquatic Resources website. For additional information call the Division of Aquatic Resources office nearest you.

For more Regulations news, click here. And for more information on various species of fish, check out WFN'S Species database.

Magazine Cover

GET THE MAGAZINE Subscribe & Save

Temporary Price Reduction


Give a Gift   |   Subscriber Services


GET THE NEWSLETTER Join the List and Never Miss a Thing.

Get the top Game & Fish stories delivered right to your inbox every week.